google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

Civil Service Commission

Civil Service Commission Logo


The purpose of the Civil Service Commission is to provide the citizens of Aurora with the most qualified applicants for and promotion to, firefighter and police officer positions, irrespective of the applicant’s race, creed, color, gender, age, national origin, or religious or political opinions or affiliations. To inspire public confidence in the Civil Service System and to afford uniformed members an opportunity for employment and promotion within uniformed positions of the Fire and Police Departments.

Apply for the Civil Service Commission

Member Information


  • Must be an Aurora resident and registered voter prior to appointment.
  • Cannot hold any other position in the City for which he/she receives per diem or salary.
  • Cannot be an appointed member of any other City Board or Commission.


  • Number of members: 5
  • Term: 3 years (only 3 consecutive terms)

Current Roster

Harold Johnson  

Harold Johnson


Barbara Shannon-Banister, Ph.D.

Desmond McNeal
Barbara Cleland
Barb Cleland
Matt Snider      

Rev. Matt Snider,
M.Div., B.S.


Meeting Schedule

When: The 2nd Tuesday of every month at 1 p.m., unless otherwise noted.

Meetings are held at the Aurora Municipal Center, 15151 E. Alameda Parkway in the Fitzsimons Room on the 3rd floor unless otherwise noted. *Note: The Civil Service Commission will meet via teleconference until further notice. Please see the agenda for access details.

Agenda Item Request Form

Aurora Police Disciplinary Hearings
Aurora Fire Disciplinary Hearings

Contact Information

Commission Administrator: Matt Cain
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 303.326.8932
City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2022 Intrado Corporation.